Trying To Think More Like A Dog A Little Bit More Each Day

Our first Innovative Leader’s session took me back to a technology conference I attended a few years ago. At that conference I saw and met many talented educators who were using social media in very innovative ways in the classroom. There was quite a buzz of energy at that two day conference. One classroom teacher who particularly stood out for me as being an exceptional leader and mentor in this field is an elementary teacher in Saskatchewan, Kathy Cassidy. Being a teacher from Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan where I first started my teacher career intrigued me even further. My administrator gave me permission to purchase Kathy’s ebook, “Connected From the Start: Global Learning in the Primary Grades.” I pondered that if Kathy could introduce and connect her students to this vast world of learning beyond the four walls of her classroom, activate and engage their minds, spark curiosity, then couldn’t I do that here in my classroom in Winnipeg.

I’m always telling my students to, “think outside the box”, and “try something new”, so I decided to jump on board. It looked easy enough and our school had some iPads ready to use.  So I signed up for Twitter and Instagram, downloaded Kidblog and Edublog apps, Biblionasium with good intentions to have students participate in an online book club forum with my students and I even created a SKYPE account. I was ready to seize these opportunities. I had all the tools. Ready, set go. Nothing happened! I followed a few but “SAFE” people but I was too nervous to tweet. I stayed in “Cat” mode. It is easier to stay with what is comfortable.

It was around this time our school had PD from the MTS society about using Social Media. I started to worry about the negative social media implications. The “what if” mental obstacle course started in my brain. What if I followed the wrong person? What if a parent followed me and they had links to something inappropriate? How could I control those things? Unfortunately that’s where I stalled. I idled for a while poking around at different websites and trying out different applications but continued to put Social Media and the unique learning experiences I could create and infuse in my regular teaching practice on hold. I had witnessed from Kathy’s presentation the possibilities and continued to be fascinated with the learning experiences she was facilitating for her students. If I were a student in her school I’d want to be in her classroom. I became disappointed in myself that I hadn’t moved beyond these initial steps which I had taken.

George Couros’s presentation on “The Myths of Technology and Learning” has renewed this interest, but I found myself relieved that other people around me had some of the same sentiments and needed some support and help to figure out how to get started. With some additional help from Keith Strachan to wrap my mind around some of these challenges I feel that I might be ready to have another go at this and leap into this new abyss. Keith reminds me that it is ok to be a beginner and that there are other people in the same boat alongside and networking with me as I begin this journey. I’m trying to think more like a dog a little bit more each day.

 

Catherine Tattersall

Earl Grey School

Cluster 1971

4 thoughts on “Trying To Think More Like A Dog A Little Bit More Each Day

  1. Hey Catherine 🙂 Thanks for your honesty. Jumping in for me took a long time and I appreciate that you are showing that process. Your focus on growth is greatly appreciated! Thanks for taking the time to write this.

    • Thanks George for taking time to respond and thank you for your encouragement and understanding.

  2. Hi Catherine,
    I love the way you have talked about your teaching/social media journey in an honest and reflective way. I’m glad I have had a part in that journey. It IS so much easier to be a cat. Quite honestly, I am a cat on Facebook. I haven’t quite figured that place out. And I felt like that on Twitter when I first began.
    Everyone needs to take small steps. It sounds like you have been doing that. I feel like posting this is a BIG step. Good for you!
    I can’t wait to see what the dog in you will do.

  3. Enjoyed your post Catherine – especially “Trying To Think More Like A Dog A Little Bit More Each Day.” You’re not alone, I feel like I’m at the bottom of giant hill… it’s long way to the top, but there’s safety in our pack and we’re headed in the same direction! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *