Inquiry Innovation

About 7 years ago I volunteered to participate in an Inquiry Project with the division.   Under the incorrect heading of ICT, I jumped into a program which I didn’t know anything about and it ended up changing my life. I soon realized I deeply believed in the philosophy of an inquiry-based classroom.

Student voice?

Student engagement?

Student ownership

Yes! Yes! Yes!

I’m beginning to feel like this ITLL Project will have the same impact.

DISRUPT YOUR ROUTINE

I was the first person at my former school to get a Smartboard. It was my job to learn, play and then teach other teachers. I used (use) the software daily, hourly.  My students’ made digital portfolios.  We used software like Photo Story to share our learning. My students learned Powerpoint.  We used really cool editing software to make our photos into posters.  I thought I was doing ok with this technology thing.

Then I joined this program and realized that somewhere along the way I had stopped “updating.”

Sure, I had twitter – to follow my favourite wrestlers.  Instagram? Yep, how many cat pictures do you want to see?  I even have my own website about teaching inquiry (which my students know about but have never seen and I have NOT shared with other teachers). I have a digital resume. I LIKE technology. I make Photostories about my garden on my own time. So why have I stopped updating tech in my classroom?

I can give the usual reasons: time, fear of the unknown.  But listening to George, joining Twitter as a professional and hearing from others, I realize it’s too important to stand still.  Innovation gives students that same voice, engagement and ownership that I fell in love with in inquiry.  They SHOULD go together.

I’m now excited to try these new things.  I’ve already used google docs and forms with my students and am developing something to share with parents.  We use IMovie and Windows Live Movie Maker to share our Lego Stories. My class is going to be Video Pals with students in another school. I want to learn about coding. Our makerspace bought Lego Robotics.  I want to take the IPAD cart as much as possible. I want more.

Before George I didn’t think networking was for me – I’m shy and didn’t want to “brag” about things I’m doing. I now see the possibilities of learning and sharing. I’m excited to see what comes next!

(I still have a personal twitter to follow my wrestlers, of course).

Jaymie McLure

Garden Grove School

Cluster 1871

 

One thought on “Inquiry Innovation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *