Change

“If we want meaningful change, we have to make a connection to the heart before we can make a connection to the mind.” George Couros

This idea is what resonated with me the most. Teaching for years in the Inner city before moving to Winnipeg, I knew this better than many, but it just becomes what you do, not something you really think about. I learned a lot about social media that day, which was invaluable to me, but the importance of relationships in our profession is what I kept thinking about after the first ITLL session and reading George’s book.

Moving from BC was huge for me. I left all of my extended family and friends behind, as well as a great career in a school division that I was proud to be a part of and where I absolutely loved to go to work everyday. Coming to Winnipeg I had 3 children, one of whom was only 2 weeks old, and no support network (besides my husband who was starting a new job, which is what brought us to Winnipeg). The first year was okay because I was on mat leave and could focus on my family, but it soon came time to think about teaching again.

I was completely overwhelmed, still very homesick, and unsure how to start. Long story short, I ended up doing a term in WSD…full-time. I hadn’t taught full time since the birth of my first child so it was a very challenging year, but it felt great to be back in the classroom. Since then I have taught a new grade every year in my attempt to reestablish a career. This was very disheartening given I had already successfully done this in BC and now had to start all over again.

As I look back on my teaching in BC and look ahead to a career in administration, the key to success was and is relationships. It is the wonderful relationships I had with my colleagues and friends that made it possible for us to do the things we did because work was fun.  And ultimately this is what I miss most. Working with people you can laugh with and cry with makes work not seem like work.  It isn’t scary to do things that are innovative when there is a group of you; it just isn’t as fun trying new things on your own, and it often takes more than one person to pull them off. Building strong relationships with each other and the students is truly what is behind great schools. Leadership and vision are important, but success requires trust and caring. This is what I hope to gain from this new journey….it is what has been missing since moving to Winnipeg.

The day with George Couros was the first time since moving here that I had a day to focus on what I wanted to learn and what I was passionate about. Up until then, the PD I had attended involved mostly getting acquainted with a new school division’s (and province’s) assessment tools, policies, procedures etc. The equivalent to a pile of worksheets really.

That day reaffirmed for me why I love teaching and reenergized me. I was able to focus on what I feel is important. It reminded me of the many innovative things I was doing in my classroom before moving to Winnipeg. Moving forward I am truly excited about the learning I am doing and I know it will make me a better teacher. The challenge for me is time. I have the desire and the passion to embrace new learning and am always trying new things, but with 3 young, busy children, it is hard to find enough time. That is my challenge…To find more time to learn, to reflect, to share, and to build those crucial relationships.

Tracy Williamson Fish

Wolseley School

 

 

3 thoughts on “Change

  1. Change is tough, definitely. How we handle change is even more important.

    Thank you for sharing and being so vulnerable. I am happy to have been a part of this post and I look forward to seeing what you write a year from now.

    🙂

  2. Hi Tracy;
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and reflections. Relationship building is essential to learning, and it is so true that we don’t always give ourselves permission to nurture those meaningful connections. So glad this PD opportunity resonates with you.
    Hi to the kids, miss you guys and the Grosvenor Family.

    • Thank you so much George and Brad! I feel so lucky to have ended up in WSD and able to participate in this project. I really didn’t realize I was holding back and not really making myself available to build deep professional relationships until participating in this project. I feel like I am finally home:)
      PS…We miss you too Brad!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *