ITLL Blog Post

I went into the first session with George Couros with an open mind – not knowing what to expect but looking forward to learning, both with a friend and colleague from my school, and with colleagues from across the division.

As the day went on, I became more and more inspired and motivated to do more in my classroom – but I was also pleasantly surprised in my realization that I AM already providing some pretty great opportunities for my students to be innovative.

Going into the PD in March, my class (grade 3) and another class (grade 4/5) were just finishing up a project in collaboration with an Engineering student from the University of Manitoba. We were fortunate to receive a Science grant in order to work with this student. Our students were able to visit the Faculty of Engineering, see a young, future Engineer in her workspace, and create alongside her.  They then took that learning back to the school.  The students worked in groups to create structures that were to withstand both an “earthquake” and an “Angry Birds Attack”. The students were to follow criteria, which they created, in order to build a model of a Winnipeg landmark building. Every single bit of this project was student-driven.   In their groups they created plans, problem solved, adapted plans, made blue-prints, and created amazing, intricate structures. Some examples include the Human Rights Museum, The Forks Tower, Silver City Polo Park, and Hotel Fort Garry. Our Engineering mentor came to our school to visit, motivate, and give advice.  My colleague and I acted merely as supervisors. We circulated, provided supplies, reminded of criteria when necessary – but the bottom line was that our students were creating, our students were directing their learning. It was loud, it was messy, and it took a long time. There were about 43 kids in one room at once, and things were getting done! Every group finished with a well-done, thoroughly planned and executed design project. They learned what it means to be Engineers and Architects. The sense of pride and excitement was obvious. It was a great, great project.

Now, when I went into our first session with George Couros I was thinking that project was done. Spring Break was coming – what I wanted “done” by Spring Break was right on schedule. However, this session screwed up my plans…in a good way! Now it is time to somehow bring some technological pieces into this project. I don’t know exactly how yet – but I was very intrigued by the “photo a day” video. This project was such a big part of the kids’ school year – it would be great for them to be able to create their own video keepsake to remind them of their first experience as Engineers – I think I will bring that to the table and set them loose with the iPads!

I am not the most tech-savvy person – but I am looking forward to becoming more aware of what is out there. I never, ever thought that I would have a Twitter account. To be honest, I have not used it a lot since our first session – but now with this idea to extend the learning from this project, I believe I will reach out to the Twitter-verse and find out just how to use that photo a day app – or something along those lines – I’m still learning. J

Leslie Marnoch

Sister MacNamara

SchoolCluster 1965

 

 

One thought on “ITLL Blog Post

  1. Connecting with our Winnipeg Classroom Community is terrific for student’s engagement.

    Taking photos of all you are doing and posting it on Twitter is what can be a terrific next step!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *