Blog Post 1

After our first session I really started to think about how I could use different technology to engage my students. I like the idea of having a classroom Twitter account and perhaps other social media like Instagram, in the future. But right now I’m just exploring Twitter. We mainly used Twitter to look at the accounts relating to the Manitoba election and NASA’s account. We are going to Tweet questions to the candidates involved in the current provincial election. In a class that isn’t really interested in politics, this should help the students to engage. They now have an opportunity to ask the candidates questions that would pertain to their life rather than listening to jargon filled debates or speeches.

I watched the TedTalk by Will Richardson. Many of his points are akin to George’s. I agree that schools are archaic in many of their approaches to learning and I do agree that often what we believe as teachers with regard to best learning in the class, is not applied in our practice. Will Richardson stated that it’s a great time to be a learner because of our access to information and I also agree with that. I do question how students and the general public are using their technology for information, or if they are at all. He gave the examples of his children exploring basketball and kale via different technology. I wonder if most students use technology for learning, or is it predominantly for entertainment? Perhaps this is where we need to guide them.

I also wonder what parameters are needed in schools. Will Richardson seems to be against schools with one sized curriculums, age grouped co-learners, time constraints in the classroom and lack of choice (among other things.) I wonder how many of these parameters or restrictions are needed in the classroom. As an elementary teacher I do feel like there are some key concepts and skills that kids do need which are curriculum related. 

Russell Miller

Gr. 6 Teacher 

GREENWAY SCHOOL

Cluster 2010

2 thoughts on “Blog Post 1

  1. I love your idea of using twitter in relation to the election. This is a great way to get students engaged in a topic that they often find dry. Great idea! I also agreed with your question about whether students use technology for entertainment vs learning, and I agree that we need to guide them to expand of how they use it. Thanks for sharing!!!!

  2. I agree with you that often “technology” gurus recommend tossing the baby out with the bathwater. I think it is possible to innovate, while also maintaining some of the status quo. It’s just a matter of balance. The thing I like about technology is that it is often the great equalizer, because most kids are much more savvy about it then even their teachers. One of my students, who is reading and writing at a Grade 3 level in Grade 7, has been able to develop much more confidence with his “idea” production in ELA because of the use of an iPad. He’s not hamstrung by not being able to communicate his ideas in writing the way he would prefer. That’s not to say we’re not working on his writing – we are – but it does mean that he is less isolated from his classmates by being able to contribute his ideas in a concrete form. I think technology actually helps students of the same age but at different levels work more cohesively together.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *