Innovation and asking why

As I process our discussions, from the first workshop with George, read The Innovator’s Mindset, read tweets, seek out contributors, and generally reflect on my practice as a teacher, a learner, and a member of a learning community, I have been thinking more and more about what innovation is, what it looks like, where to find it, and how I can get there.
For the last year or so, I have been trying to dig a little deeper into what I do as a teacher and learner, and question myself. I ask “why am I doing this thing, in this way?” When the answer is that it’s working and meeting my needs, I am happy. But, if I’m thinking of more innovating, I need to ask what can I do to make it better? When this answer is “because I have always done it this way”, I get worried. I think that this idea is the biggest jumping point and stumbling block for innovation. A practice/routine/system existing simply because it always has isn’t a good enough answer anymore.
I am challenging myself to look at what I do as a teacher and learner, and ask myself why. I am challenging myself to find those things that are no longer working for me and change them up. Maybe that makes me an innovator. Maybe not. But I do know, that doing things the way I always have because that’s the way I always have just isn’t good enough anymore.

More to come. . .

Michelle Wolfe
Lord Nelson School
Cluster 1871

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *