Mindset

I admit I can be resistant to change. I fear the unknown and feel uneasy when pushed out of my comfort zone. And yet, when I reflect on the proudest, most memorable moments of my life, they have been when I’ve been the most scared, exhilarated or challenged. I wouldn’t trade being an exchange student in Sweden, or facing the joys and uncertainties of parenthood, learning to downhill ski or zip-line, or facing and overcoming the challenges of hearing loss and tinnitus for anything. These experiences have shaped who I’ve become and remind me I can be strong and discover new realms of capability. The latest challenge is training for my first half marathon. So why am I resisting something as simple as starting a Twitter account?

Typically I need time to listen, process and prepare before I speak. I reflect, I write, I ask questions and clarify. I’m not used to blurting things out (my inner monologue is a constant source of amusement, however), and I wonder if I’ll have anything significant to add to the conversation. I understand the need to connect through social media and the importance of sharing a wealth of ideas and experience. I guess, with my need to lessen the “noise”, I just want to know I will find what is meaningful and relevant for me on such a busy, social stage.

I am currently reflecting on the characteristics of the innovator’s mindset (from George Couros’ book) and asking myself whether I would want to be a learner in my own classroom. Have I established a safe and nourishing learning environment where students feel free to make mistakes, take risks and experience the joyful abandon of “messy” learning? I am blessed with a group of learners who demonstrate every day that they can adapt to changes and be resilient and push through challenges to deeper levels of understanding and wonder. It’s not always easy, but if I expect this growth mindset from them, surely I can do the same.

I feel I am being pushed as a learner this year through professional development opportunities and my school’s professional learning community and primary vertical team. I am opening my mind to ideas for innovative teaching, taking risks by experimenting with documentation walls that chart student and teacher learning and reflection, and excited (and slightly terrified) at exploring the endless possibilities of the genius hour as a school staff and with my own Grade 3 class.

Here’s to the adventure of growth and learning ahead!

 

Kristen Robbins

Grade 3 Teacher

Grosvenor School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *