Our Motto’s Is That We Are All Life-Long Learners

After the March session with George Couros, I was incredibly excited about introducing new concepts with my students.  Reflecting upon my own classroom, I knew that in order for my classroom to grow (my students and myself) that by introducing technology with my students was the path that I wanted to go.  As a primary teacher, we are constantly learning through hands on, team building and creating.  But after the session, George showed us more ways to have our student’s little brains working and creating.

The entire session I kept thinking of how brilliant it would be for students to learn how to use technology appropriately and how to use technology to further their own learning.  It wasn’t about sitting in front a computer learning through a program, it was based on creating and making connections with students and people around the world. It’s learning at their fingertips.

Innovating teaching is about what we can do to further and enhance children’s learning.  It’s not just about technology, which I think a lot of people were afraid of.  It’s about creating problem solvers, creators, being reflective on their own learning…  I could go on, but I truly believe that this sketchnote that George had created sums it up perfectly.

Characteristics of an Innovators Mindset

 

As teachers, we are constantly learning and that’s what we want to be able to promote with our students.  One of our motto’s is that we are life-long learners, so that’s exactly the goal we need to have for our students.

name: Kimberly Bui
school: Champlain School
Cluster group : 1971

One thought on “Our Motto’s Is That We Are All Life-Long Learners

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more Kim. I think the phrase the resonated best for me was “creating problem solvers, creators, being reflective on their own learning”. For me this is the crux of what we are hoping to help bring out in our students. A laudable goal and very much worth reaching for!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *