Blog Post 1

Since our first session with George Couros, I have spent a lot of time thinking about innovation and what more I could do to support my students in a world surrounded by technology. I realize that innovation is not only about technology, but my mind automatically goes to that. At the first session, I decided to create a Twitter account. I knew very little about Twitter, and have always been very worried about social media because of all the “bad things” that have happened to people with accounts. Even though we had discussions about how to be safe, knowing who to add and so on, I still felt very nervous about the whole thing. Is it because there is such a focus on the negatives of social media that I don’t spend enough time thinking about the positives?

Despite my concerns, I took the plunge….but now what?

As George Couros said in his book, “Innovation is less about tools like computers, tablets, social media, and the Internet and more about how we use those things.” Adding a Twitter account won’t make me a more innovative teacher, just as having more IPads in your school or classroom doesn’t make you more innovative. Learning how to use it, and making good use of it could.

Another one of George Couros’ quotes is “Sometimes the most valuable thing you get from the network isn’t an idea but the inspiration or courage to try something new.”  I look forward to networking and seeing what I can learn from others. Through participating in only one session so far, I have already developed the confidence to try something new. I have stepped out of my comfort zone and am taking small steps towards my goal. My plan over the next few months is to focus on all of the positives related to social media, rather than the negatives. There are so many positives. I hope to inspire my students and myself one small change at a time.

 

Lindsay Price

George V School

Cluster 1965

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *