Reflections on “Innovative Practices”

Many thoughts went through my mind as I was listening to George Couros’ presentation.  Quite honestly, I was intimidated, filled with fear, annoyed and a tad curious- all at the same time.  I have to admit, I’ve always been one of the skeptical people who felt there was so much negative related to social media.  All the bullying we hear about, and especially among young people.  There’s the over-sharing of so much unnecessary and not-at-all interesting trivial information people love to post.  For a private person such as myself, there just has never been any interest to become involved with any of this.

But wait a minute; I’m becoming illiterate if I’m not connected with the social media?  I don’t like the sound of that!  It is true; times have changed so much and yes, and even during my years of teaching!  Take a look back at history- from no phones, to party-line phones, now its cell phones… from a calculator being our only “device”, to all the many devices we use today.  Nothing stays the same.

Although all I’m hearing at the in-service is that “I need to be twittering”, that is not really what the message is.  Innovation.  Is that really new?  It has always been there.  And yes, even in my own classroom.  We don’t necessarily think of it that way, because we make changes without us consciously thinking, “I’m being innovative.  I’m changing.”

So for a non-risk taking person like myself, stepping out of my comfort zone, won’t mean, leaping out.  It will be small steps.  I need to feel safe.  As a colleague of mine said; “It still needs to feel safe and manageable.”  That is what I can do.  I can take small steps in becoming more literate with the social media.  I can learn to use it, and take advantage of it in my daily life and classroom.  How will that look?

J. Barkman

Glenelm School

Cluster group: 1965

 

One thought on “Reflections on “Innovative Practices”

  1. Thank you for your honesty. I have many of the same feelings. I think as long as we are being reflective and being open to change, we are doing what’s best for our students, whether we are “illiterate” or not!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *