Innovative Teaching and Learning Leaders Reflection

Let’s talk about moving from “pockets of innovation” to a “culture of innovation.”  An interesting statement.  My initial thoughts when I was asked to attend the ITLL sessions was fear of the unknown mixed with the new challenge of learning more.  I teach EAL to senior high students who are often on a tight timeline to finish their high school education by age 21.  I often feel that I don’t have time to do anything except the meat and potatoes of the course.  I appreciated the workshop with George Couros on March 22nd because it helped me to realize that using innovative strategies in the classroom and the school community is much easier and more beneficial that I first thought. The videos that were shared during the session were informative and interesting.   I really enjoyed the video of the students speaking to the senior online.  It was emotional to see how the students and seniors became so important to each other.  What a wonderful way to share. Thanks.

 

Jill Stefanyshyn

Gordon Bell School

Cluster 1965

One thought on “Innovative Teaching and Learning Leaders Reflection

  1. Hi Jill;
    I loved that video as well. I am pleased that the PD with George is helping you to make innovative learning connections for you and your students.
    Brad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *