Fear No More

As much as I have strived for innovation and to foster passion and creativity within the classroom setting, it has always been countered with a bit of caution. You see, when I was in University I took a course entitled “Educator and the Law”, in retrospect it should have been called “How to Get Fired and Sued in Three Easy Steps”. The premise of the class was to look into case files and situations where educators had either been fired, suspended or sued and hopefully we would learn from their mistakes. This class set a tone of fear and a self-preservation in me that has unfortunately has carried forward into my teaching. It was instilled in us over and over to use Social Media as little as possible once we became educators. At no time did they showcase the possibilities of positive relationships, communities and resources it could open up for us.
I was a later addition to the ITLL list and as such didn’t receive George’s book (and still haven’t yet). So despite “Googling” his name and reading a few interviews prior, I didn’t really know what to expect when I walked into Room 106. After my University experience, you can imagine my surprise when I was greeted by an educator and administrator who not only valued the tools of Social Media, but rather encouraged them. The simplistic message of “if you wouldn’t say or display it in your classroom, don’t put it on your Twitter” was revolutionary for me.
That day I set up a Twitter account using my actual name, a first for me since entering the world of education. What resulted was a whirlwind of connections and resources at the touch of a fingertip. I posted a photo of the Steel Pans the students in our school were going to be performing on later that week accompanied by some hashtags that made sense to go with them. Almost instantly the photo was “liked” by a group in the UK, who’s videos I had used initially to introduce the students to the instrument. For the students it felt like we had come full circle, having a group that we respected and learned from appreciating the hard work and dedication that they had put in to learning the skills of the pan.
Innovation is not defined by technology alone and tools are only as good as they are being used, but it was like George Couros gave me the key to a door filled of devices that had previously been locked with the words “do not enter” on it.
Charlotte Cook-Dowsett
Lord Selkirk School
Cluster 1965

One thought on “Fear No More

  1. Charlotte,

    What you said about Twitter providing an opportunity to connect directly with people that you have found inspiring, and who have been used in you classroom…I find that to be one of the best things about it too. There is nothing more exciting than having someone respond to your tweet. It must have been so exciting for the students!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *